Enterprise transformation

This “TransOp” diagram superimposes three structures to deal with a critical subject: the continuum between operations and transformation. The agile enterprise must seek better integration between everyday activities (the operations) and transformation activities, which are seen to be more exceptional.

This schema brings several traditions together:

  • that of quality, with the Deming wheel (or PDCA for Plan-Do-Check-Act);
  • that of methodology, with the opposition analysis-design completed by execution;
  • the current discourse on transformation.

The continuum between operations and transformation

 

Seeking agility

The classic analysis-design dichotomy alone is not enough to cover the whole transformation chain and provide an account of enterprise life. It emphasizes study activities to the detriment of everyday activities. We therefore have to complete it with a third type of activity: execution, which is far more important in terms of volume. This is all the more necessary, as we now have to think about a closer linkage between operations and transformation, so as to increase enterprise agility, that is to say its capacity to rapidly adapt itself.

Put in place the improvement loop

This tripartition of Analysis-Design-Execution enables us to cover the complete scope, which can also be analyzed using the Deming wheel (PDCA). This schema allows us to draw a parallel with the quality approach.

The analysis encroaches on the “check” part. This means that there are two levels of verification or, more likely, two levels for the observation results to be taken into account:

  • one, common, with the decision made by the producers (or the ones who execute);
  • the other, more exceptional, which lies within the improvement loop for practices.

Mobilizing all the actors with a view to continuous improvement

On a larger scale and to clarify the roles involved in the transformation, we can position the separation between the transformation activities and the execution ones (the operations) on these templates. The transformation begins with a particular level of analysis: the “meta” analysis – if we can call it that – which exploits internal and external observations, takes a step back from the existing practices and raises questions about the running of the enterprise. This data is then used in the design phase, which consists in imagining new ways of working.

The diagram shows that operational managers have to understand the broader scope of their role: not only are they responsible for the day-to-day operations, as designed and stipulated (the execution, including verification), but they must also consider things in such a way that makes them actors in the transformation.

This philosophy can be summed up in one watchword: “We are all actors of the transformation!”

For further details:

Comments are closed

La transformation d’entreprise

 

Ce schéma « TransOp »  superpose trois structures pour traiter d’un sujet critique : le continuum entre opérations et transformation. L’entreprise agile doit rechercher une meilleure intégration entre les activités courantes (les opérations) et les activités de transformation, perçues comme plus exceptionnelles.

Ce schéma met en résonance plusieurs traditions :

  • celle de la qualité, avec la roue de Deming (ou PDCA pour Plan-Do-Check-Act) ;
  • celle de la méthodologie, avec l’opposition analyse-conception complétée par l’exécution ;
  • le discours ambiant sur la transformation.
TransOp

Le continuum entre opérations et transformation

Chercher l’agilité

La dichotomie classique analyse-conception ne suffit pas pour couvrir toute la chaîne de transformation et rendre compte de la vie de l’entreprise. Elle met en relief les activités d’études au détriment des activités courantes. Il faut donc la compléter par un troisième type d’activité : l’exécution, laquelle est bien plus importante en volume. Ceci est d’autant plus nécessaire que nous devons, maintenant, réfléchir à une articulation plus intime entre les opérations et la transformation, de façon à augmenter l’agilité de l’entreprise, sa capacité à s’adapter rapidement.

Mettre en place la boucle d’amélioration

Ce tripôle Analyse-Conception-Exécution permet de couvrir tout le périmètre que l’on peut également analyser avec la roue de Deming (PDCA). Ce schéma permet d’établir un parallèle avec la démarche qualité.

L’analyse mord sur la partie « check ». Ceci signifie qu’il y a deux niveaux de vérification ou, plutôt, deux niveaux de prise en compte des résultats d’observation :

  • l’un, courant, avec prise de décision par les producteurs (exécutants) ;
  • l’autre, plus exceptionnel, qui s’inscrit dans la boucle d’amélioration des pratiques.

Mobiliser tous les acteurs en vue de l’amélioration permanente

À plus grosse maille et pour clarifier les rôles impliqués dans la transformation, nous pouvons plaquer, sur ces patrons, la séparation entre les activités de transformation et celles d’exécution (les opérations). La transformation commence avec un certain niveau d’analyse : l’analyse « méta » – si l’on peut dire – qui exploite les observations internes et externes, prend de la distance par rapport aux pratiques existantes et soulève les questions sur le fonctionnement de l’entreprise. Ces données sont reprises dans l’acte de conception qui consiste à imaginer de nouveaux fonctionnements.

Le schéma montre que le manager opérationnel doit comprendre son rôle de façon élargie : non seulement il est responsable du fonctionnement courant, tel que conçu et prescrit (l’exécution, y compris la vérification), mais aussi il doit avoir un regard qui en fait un acteur de la transformation.

Cette philosophie peut se résumer en un mot d’ordre : « Tous acteurs de la transformation ! ».

Pour aller plus loin :

Comments are closed